If you have been following me for some time you probably see that I have been posting some great tips to help you get fit. I wanted to take the opportunity this week for you guys to learn a bit about me, my journey, and how it has led me to helping others achieve their goals.  I feel it is important for my readers to know who is giving them their advice.

Here is my story

superman.jpg

Like many kids I wanted to be Superman growing up.  You bet I tied a towel around my neck and pretended I could leap tall buildings in a single bound, be faster than a speeding bullet, more powerful than a locomotive, and be able to bend steel with my bare hands.

In real life though instead of battling against bad guys, I was battling against my weight. I grew up with back problems and asthma which made getting strong, fast, fit, and happy hard to do.

It was safe to say I was against anything fitness related growing up because it was uncomfortable and because of that I became lazy.

My greatest excuse was using my asthma to get out of our warm up jog in 7th grade gym class.  I almost failed gym when they found out I was supposed to use my inhaler before class, I just conveniently forget….OOPS!

Thankfully I loved playing sports.  It wasn’t until high school that I got serious about football and began taking fitness seriously.   I wanted to play, and someone who was weak and slow just wasn’t going to be out on the field for strategic and safety reasons.  So I decided to change that and began lifting.

At first it was hard and uncomfortable, but amazing thing started to happen.  I felt like I was becoming a superhero.

kid super.jpg

No longer did it feel like I had cinder blocks around my feet when I ran,  Or hand an anchor around me when I tried to jump.  I found I had more energy, felt less pain performing movements, and even became confident in myself and happy.

It was hard work but the results were well worth it.  Going through the process taught me a lot about toughness, and taking pride in earning your accomplishments.

Over time I began to enjoy the grind and it has become something I love to do.

I share my story with you because I wanted to show you that trainers aren’t Greek Gods carved from marble eating broccoli and cauliflower out of the womb.

We all have a story, a reason why we got started with all this fitness stuff in the first place.  For me I was tired of living in pain, overweight, and having things like my asthma hold me back from things like a gym class jog.

It wasn’t easy by any means.  It took a lot of hard work along with trial and error to get where I wanted.

 

I am living proof you don’t have to settle.  I was lazy, soft minded, and out of shape until I got angry and tired of it holding me back.  The moral of the story is that you have the capacity to change your situation.

I am here to help people unleash their super powers and take back their lives.

It all starts with mindset.  If you have the right mindset it doesn’t matter what you do in the gym.

I know it can be easy to get lost doing this fitness stuff.   There are a million exercises and training styles, each trainer preaching how this one is better than that one.  But none of them work if you don’t have the proper mindset.

Tweaking what you do in the gym is easy.  But with the wrong mindset it is easy to run away at the first sign of failure.

That is why I coach.

That is why I write this blog.

To teach and inspire you to accomplish your goals.  Because I care.  I know how you feel.  I have been there.

But at the end of the day it’s not about me caring.  YOU have to care as well and invest the time and effort into eating right, training, doing your homework if you want to achieve your goals.

It won’t be easy, but it can be done!

 

Do you have a story to tell?  We would love to hear it.  Let us know in the comment section below what motivated you to get started.

If you happen to be one of those people who I mentioned who are lost click on this link to receive your personal map to accomplishing your goals. 

 

Leave a Reply

